About the Institute

The Institute of Polish Language came into being in 1976 as a result of transformation of the Chair of Polish Language, the head of which was professor Witold Doroszewski.

Professor Mieczysław Szymczak was the first head of the Institute, followed by: prof. dr hab. Renata Grzegorczykowa, prof. dr hab. Władysław Kupiszewski, prof. dr hab. Halina Rybicka, prof. dr hab. Andrzej Markowski, prof. dr hab. Krystyna Waszakowa and prof. dr hab. Jerzy Podracki.